Shop Your Closet

When I buy anything I consider its longevity and versatility.  I do not like to waste money, but that does not mean I do not spend money.  I just want to make sure whatever I spend on is worth it.  I was never always like this.  In the early years of my marriage, whenever I had to have something my husband would turn and ask, “Is that really necessary?”  It was not that he was discouraging me from splurging here and there…but that’s exactly it.  He was stressing here and there…not ALL the time!

Shopping  your closet allows you to incorporate the latest trends and not waste money on a seasonal item that you will not even glance at after a few months.  With the following tips, you will feel like you went on a $1000 shopping spree for free or less!

 

Clean out your closet.  Are your favorite outfits on repeat at the front of your wardrobe?  Do you feel tired of wearing them over and over again resulting with the need to buy something new?  Yikes, I sound like an infomercial!  Take a look in the back of your closet!  I promise you will find something you have forgotten about…maybe even with the tags still on – guilty.

I wish I could clean out my closet after every season, but practically speaking (especially now with the baby) that is close to impossible.  My first recommendation is to clean out your closet at least twice a year; once at the beginning of spring and once at the beginning of fall.


De-clutter and donate.  Ask yourself a simple question – When was the last time you used this?  If I can’t remember when, or if it has been more than a year, I know I need to let it go.  And trust me…I know you tell yourself that you will wear it, but let’s be real…you most probably won’t.

What’s the best thing you can do with all that stuff?  Donate it.  Make sure it is wearable (no holes, rips, etc.) and washed.  Imagine how much a person who cannot afford such nice things would appreciate it.


Keep trends in mind.  Do a little research online and browse fashion magazines to stay up-to-date with the latest trends and upcoming ones.  While cleaning out your closet, keep an eye out for them.  I could not believe how many things I overlooked in my own closet from this spring’s color family or style.


Organize.  Think about ways you can organize your closet to rotate outfits so nothing is left behind and forgotten about.   I really like the idea of taking quick snapshots of each item or outfits and creating an album.  Is there an app for that?  Well, actually…yes there is!  It is called Cloth.  It organizes your outfits in different categories based on the weather and even gives you options from your own closet based on that day’s weather!

It may seem like a daunting task to take a picture of each item, so I suggest you take two minutes out each morning or before bed to take a quick pic of the outfit or items as you wear them each day.  After a few weeks, you will have completed the task.


Be your own stylist.  A stylist brings out a rack of options for tops, bottoms, and accessories, lays them out flat, and mixes and matches to find the perfect outfit.  They base it on a look they are trying to achieve or center the outfit around one article of clothing or accessory.

I like to pick one thing out of my closet and go from there.  Mix and match!  Experiment with different combinations you may not have considered before.  You will be surprised how easily you can freshen up your outfits and make your closet feel like new.


Plan and keep outfits ready.  Plan what you will wear during the upcoming week and have the outfits ready.  This idea has been working out great for me.  I like to take a little time out on Sundays for this.  Take a look at the weather predictions and pick your outfits.  I use a sturdy hanger for the outfit, accessories, and wrap the hijab around the top.  It makes it easier during the week, and keeps you from getting bored of your closet.

After you have done all the tips above, you will have a better idea of the items you are missing or need to complete that perfect outfit.  It will also help you consider whether what you are buying will fit into your style and wardrobe.  And lastly, it will help you refrain from buying things you already have or are very similar!

Let me know if you have tried these tips, have more to share, and general thoughts in the comments section below.  Be sure to tag me on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter (@hijabilifestyle) with pictures from shopping your closet experiences with #shopyourcloset!

4 thoughts on “Shop Your Closet

Leave a Reply

