October Favorites (2014)

Hello!  I wanted to share my October favorites of the month and hopefully make it a regular thing.  I enjoy watching YouTubers and catching up with what other bloggers are loving every month.  Not only that, I find it helpful!  They give me options for new things to try or help me narrow down something I have been needing.  The only downside is that it makes me want to shop more, but I am working hard on controlling that.  On to my favorites…

 

Oct Faves 2014 (2)

Brown Eyeliner.  My favorite for the month is brown eyeliner, not so much the Too Faced eyeliner.  I posted that one because it is the one I am currently using, but I think there might be better brown eyeliners out there that I need to explore.  I will post a review of the Too Faced eyeliner soon.  What I love though is the subtle look of a dark brown eyeliner.  It’s part of my everyday look.  Sometimes a black eyeliner can be too bold, and I want something softer – this does it for me.  I love it and it’s perfect for the fall.

MAC Studio Finish Skin Corrector in True Orange.  That’s quite a mouthful.  A friend of mine recommended this product to me about a year ago.  I used to use it on and off and the color would scare me a bit.  It really is a true orange and very pigmented.  I would apply it with a lighter hand, however, I read that it is more effective if applied generously to your dark circles and any dark pigmentation on your face (around the mouth, chin, etc.).  My dark circles drive me beyond nuts and this is awesome for desi (Pakistani/Indian) skin.  I am an NC42 in MAC, and this really hides those dark circles without making it look ashy.  You apply it under your foundation and no one will know you looked like a clown pre-foundation.

BeautyBlender.  Back when I was in Dubai, I discovered the beautyblender through the rave reviews on YouTube and my favorite makeup blogs.  Unfortunately, it was not available back then and I paid an arm and a leg to have it sent to me in Dubai.  And I do not regret it one bit.  I cannot rave more about it.  My skin dries up in the winter time and I prefer not to use a brush since it can create more flakiness on my face.  I can’t even remember the last time I used a foundation brush.  This applies my foundation evenly, gives me a natural finish, and looks like skin.  It’s a favorite of almost every beauty guru out there and I find it faster and easier for a person on the run and constantly traveling.

Neutrogena Naturals Fresh Cleansing + Makeup Remover.  I think more than makeup, I love skincare products.  I really do not mind splurging on them.  Ultimately, I want my skin to be in its best state, so that I can use less makeup in the future.  Even though this is a drugstore product, and affordable – Alhamdulillah, it leaves your skin feeling clean and is not harsh.  I am not really sure if it removes all of your makeup with using wipes or a makeup remover beforehand.  I should test that out.  I just like it because it’s natural, it feels good, and I think all cleansers generally do the same thing…whether they are $5 or $50.

Dolce & Gabbana Light Blue.  I have not purchased a new perfume since I broke a brand new full size bottle that I had splurged on, one-hundred fifty dollars to be exact.  So even though I have had it for awhile and it’s probably not a fall scent, Light Blue has been my top pick from my collection this month.  It is not overpowering, which is great if you want to smell nice but not attract the attention of others.

Rebecca Minkoff’s Mini Mac in Camel.  I think this is an old color that is not available anymore.  It reminds me of Almond, which is a very popular color.  Every fall, I would tell myself that I would purchase a camel colored bag.  And every fall, I would end up with a black bag because black is my favorite color, it matches everything, and I was afraid to take the leap.  Honestly, I hated the Mac when I first saw it and thought it was one of those trendy purchases that would be outdated the next year.  But I saw it in a few colors that made me fall in love and it is one of those bags that seems to be a go-to piece for many year after year.  I am so impressed with this bag and it is my favorite fashion piece this month.  I think most of my fall outfits are centered around this bag.  I will post a more in-depth review soon, Insha’Allah.

Bath & Body Works Mason Jar Candle in Leaves.  I am sure you have seen this on almost everyone’s favorite lists for fall.  I avoided buying it for so long.  I am not entirely sure why.  I just wanted to try different things.  But I finally did get it this fall, and I love it.  It brings everything I love about fall into my home.  Makes me feel good.  Love it.

Comment below and let me know what your favorites were for the month of October and if you have any recommendations for me to try this month!

Love,

Hijabi Lifestyle

 

Leave a Reply

